RSS

Slightly Unhealthy Obsession

31 Jul

I read a post a week or so ago (I’ll look for a citation) on whether blogging was addictive. Every characteristic of an addicted blogger made by the writer was something that I think I had just done within the past five minutes: obsessive checking of the blog for comments and likes, convulsively watching my blog’s stats for activity and trolling of the blogosphere for similar blogs in order to like them so that they might come visit my page in return.

I admit it, I’m totally addicted. And I need your help.

Oh no, I don’t want to quit. I don’t really want to control it at all. What I’d prefer to have is some satisfying stats. So, to that end, could you please stop by my blog once in a while. Hit ‘like’ and maybe leave a comment. Perhaps subscribe… and then maybe get someone you know to come by and do all that again.

Right now I get a paltry handful of visits a day (I think my record was 41 – I wish I knew what I had done right that day). I’d like to see if I can get some decent numbers by the end of the summer. It would also be good for me because I know that I’ll write more (and better) if I knew there was someone out there reading.

I have two blogs, this one for DownHouse Software (although I drop anything that’s going on in my life here) and AppCampus, which is a little more serious. I’ve been trying to post some articles on technology in education. I’d also appreciate some article ideas if you have any.

So, if you can help my feed my addiction a little, thank you.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2012 in Personal Life

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Slightly Unhealthy Obsession

  1. downhousesoftware

    July 31, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    I think this post demands a goal… Something like a 500 visitors day.
    I feel like I’m planning my “Big Year” – excellent movie by the way.
    So, there it is: 500.

     
  2. Momma E.

    August 1, 2012 at 12:28 am

    I too am addicted. The most views I’ve gotten in a day was 260. On a full moon. I wrote a post and a related short story about my lunar fascination back in March. It’s ok, not my best work but ok. It gets the most views every day of anything I’ve written to date. Full moon fever is the title. I don’t get it, but I’ll take it. Lately I’m averaging about 50 views a day. I have lots of followers only because I link my blog to my Facebook and wp counts those friends. Still I am enjoying writing, and also posting my photos. I’m also loving the connections I’m making! Love the Midwest ! Friendliest people on earth! My aunt and her husband live in northern Indiana, on the Lake.

     
    • downhousesoftware

      August 1, 2012 at 2:18 am

      Well, we’re only about two days out from a full moon right now. In fact, I was just watching the moon rise and it was amazing tonight – it’s been cloudy recently so I didn’t expect it.

      I’ll be sure to check out your Full Moon Fever as well as your other writing.

      I just started blogging recently after reading a slightly preachy, slightly condescending, whole-heartedly arrogant book on pursuing happiness. Actually, the book isn’t bad, but the author has a knack for rubbing her readers’ nose in her own successes just as you’re starting to like her. (What a glowing review! The book is called ‘The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin)
      She suggests writing a blog for some reason.. I think it’s to give idle hands something to do, but also to work on writing skills and potentially build a readership for other -or related – projects. And so, I’m here.

      I have to admit that it’s been good for me in a lot of ways. I enjoy reading about people and their lives. I also really enjoy the pressure of trying hard to be consistently productive.

      Anyway, it’s good to meet you Momma E. All the best.

       
      • Momma E.

        August 1, 2012 at 2:27 am

        Good to meet you too. A favorite saying of mine is “You meet the nicest people on the road to ruin.” And I am! Best, Donna

         
  3. Main Street Musings Blog

    August 1, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    I appreciated your honest post! You’re right, it’s easy to get caught up in numbers with blogging, and I do agree that it’s more fun to write when you know you have an audience! Good luck with your new blog. I’ll be back!

     

Leave a Reply

 
